Quote

Becoming Zooey Glass: A Note on Salinger Worship

That this road, the eleventh time over, if you think about it that way, has lead me to write about myself and the rhythmical legacy of Franny and Zooey on my life, is exactly the point of this essay.  High praise I can do while cooking basil and shrimp over vermicelli.  Acknowledging the differences, deep and ponderable, between Zooey and I takes the concerted and the best of curbed enthusiasm…

Zooey

Wanting to explain why I read a particular book over and over again, I thought to examine my history with the text while pondering its place in my life now. Was I merely religiously devoted to a text and author who shaped my past selves? Or, as I suspect, it might be something more; informing my present and my actions, but not without shifting and evolving as time moves forward and I go on living.

  • This text will appear on the revamped Collier’s Magazine website and possibly in print as well. For the time being, the full text appears on this website under the Writings & Contributions Page.
Leave a Reply

